Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation

art students

This page contains important information for ASU Visual Arts students. You can download documents that you may need through the links on the right.

If you have any comments, questions or concerns about the Visual Arts Department at ASU you are welcome to submit them to

Alabama State University's Department of Visual Arts is now fully accredited by The National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD)

“Receiving this accreditation puts us as the only university in Montgomery, the eighth school in the state, and only the tenth Historically Black College or University (HBCU) in the country to meet the rigorous educational standards set forth by the National Association of Schools of Art and Design,”
- Stephen Cappelli, Chairman of ASU's Department of Visual Arts. Read the full article here.

Important Student Forms and Information

In the top right corner of this page you  will find links to download important student documents includiing the Art Department Safety Manual which is required reading for all art students.

The Student Art Organizations At ASU

The ASU Student Art Association is open to any ASU student interested in the creation, promotion or appreciation of visual arts. Membership fees ar $10 per semester and SAA members are invlolved in creating a wide variety of fun and creative activities through out the year.

Current information about the ASU Student Art Association can be found on the group's Facebook page. Visit Now. 

Kappa Pi International Art Honors Fraternity: Delta Tau Chapter

The ASU Department of Visual Arts is proud to announce the Spring 2013 reactivation of the Kappa Pi International Honorary Art Fraternity chapter Delta Tau. The chapter was founded at ASU in 1966.

kappa phi

The 2013 Kappa Pi members are: (back row left to right) Latia Milton, Taryn Shufford, Lakendrick Taylor, Nathaniel Allen (faculty sponsor) Toya Carter, Stephen Cappelli (Dept. Chair & faculty sponsor) Christopher Burke,

 (Front row left to right) Ashley Woods, Krysta Smith,
Reina Fox (President), Christina Deal, Tamara Shufford.
Not pictured: Scott Brown & Cedrick Stallworth.