WVAS Wins Awards

News Date
ADDY winners 2023 (2).jpg
WVAS's ABBY Award Winners Derik Williams (L) Melanie Hogan and Robb Taylor (contributed).
Three Coveted ABBY Awards for 'Best in Broadcasting' Won By Alabama State University's WVAS 90.7 FM National Public Radio Station.

By Kenneth Mullinax/ASU

Alabama State University's WVAS 90.7 FM National Public Radio station was awarded three of the Alabama Broadcasting Association's (ABA) coveted ABBY-Awards. The awards were presented during the ABA's “Best in Broadcasting” awards ceremony held on March 19 in Birmingham.
The "Best in Broadcasting Awards" were presented to WVAS's Derik Williams, for Best Radio Medium Market Sports Show/Sports Talk Show; Robb Taylor and Melanie Hogan, for Best Radio Medium Market Public Affairs Program; and to Melanie Hogan and the WVAS staff, for the Best Radio Service Project for the station’s “Gift of Life Foundation” project.
Veteran station manager, Candy Capel, explained she is most proud of her team's professionalism and expertise. She stated that winning the awards is all about teamwork.

“We are proud of our longstanding record of being recognized by the Alabama Broadcasting Association for the quality and depth of the myriad work we do in both news stories and public service projects. This latest round of awards bestowed upon WVAS is indicative of the station's prowess and professionalism," Capel said. "It really means a lot to be recognized for the work and effort that the staff puts in on a daily basis. We have an awesome team that's dedicated and passionate about what they do and getting it right. I'm so proud to be working with them."

The Alabama Broadcasters Association is the voice of the broadcasting industry in Alabama. The ABA is dedicated to protecting and enhancing broadcasting and promoting the professional status of its members.

WVAS 90.7 FM is the “Voice of Alabama State University” and may be heard within 17 counties in Central and South Alabama. Listeners may also tune in nationally by visiting the WVAS website. 

News media contact: Kenneth Mullinax, 334-229-4104