Students Win Broadcasting Scholarships

News Date
broadcasters scholarship 3 students 2023.jpg
ASU's three student scholarship winners at the ceremony (photo credit: David Campbell/ASU).
Communication Department Students Win Alabama Broadcasters Association Scholarships 

By Kenneth Mullinax/ASU 

Three students from Alabama State University's Department of Communications were awarded scholarships on Nov. 7, by the board of directors of the Alabama Broadcasters Association (ABA) in a special ceremony, held in the theater of the John Garrick Hardy Student Center. 

Communications seniors Tammia Jacobs, Kendal Manns and Khalil Stewart were each awarded $1,000 scholarship checks from ABA board member Wayne Reid, who serves as the executive director of Alabama Public Television. Reid was joined by fellow ABA board members Terry Barber (owner of Little Engine Broadcasting) and Valarie Russell (general manager of WTVY Television in Dothan). 

The host of the scholarship ceremony was Dr. Ivon Alcime, the scholarship committee chair and a Communications department faculty member. 

"We thank the ABA board for the scholarships awarded to all three of our students and the commitment that the board made that began three years ago with its initial $50,000 grant to the University which greatly contributed to the extracurricular and academic successes of our Communication department students," Alcime stated.  

Faculty members and ASU staff attending and speaking at the event included assistant provost and dean of the Harold Lloyd Murphy Graduate School, Dr. Caterina Bristol; Communications Department chair, Dr. William Robinson; and ASU’s director of Brand and Marketing, Shani Crayton. 

Crayton, who was a senior technical media producer at WSFA TV 12 before joining the senior staff at ASU, is also an accomplished Communications Department alumna. 

 "We are all here to support the students in Communications who are being recognized here today for their excellent work by winning these ABA scholarships and who exhibit such a great job," Crayton said. "I am sure all three of our students will continue to do great work in promoting student success and publicizing University events, and will also continue to make history for ASU and grow academically and career wise -- becoming the next generation of Alabama State University history makers." 

News media contact: Kenneth Mullinax, 334-229-4104.