Pres. Biden Taps Ross to Presidential HBCU Board!

News Date
logo White House.jpg
President Quinton T. Ross, Jr. Appointed to President Biden’s Board of Advisors on Historically Black Colleges and Universities

By Lois G. Russell/ASU

Alabama State University President, Dr. Quinton T. Ross, Jr., has been appointed to President Joe Biden’s Board of Advisors on Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs).

In the White House press release, the announcement stated that the Board of Advisors will be composed of “qualified and diverse leaders…The President’s Board will advance the goal of the HBCU Initiative, established by the Carter Administration, to increase the capacity of HBCUs to provide the highest quality education to its students and continue serving as engines of opportunity.”

Ross is one of 18 appointees to the Advisory Board. The list also includes four other HBCU presidents, as well as nationally recognized figures such as actress Taraji P. Henson, NBA star Chris Paul and United Airlines president Brett Hart. Delaware State University President Tony Allen serves as the chairman of the Advisory Board, and Tennessee State University President Glenda Glover is the vice chair.

More From the White House Release
“The Biden-Harris Administration is committed to supporting the vital mission of HBCUs. Through the American Rescue Plan, grant funding, and by forgiving capital improvement debt of many of these institutions, the Biden-Harris Administration has already committed more than $5.8 billion in support. Reestablishing the White House HBCU Initiative – and appointing qualified and diverse individuals to the Board – will allow the administration to build on that financial commitment with continued institutional support.”

About President Ross
Dr. Quinton T. Ross, Jr., is entering his fifth year as President of Alabama State University, having assumed the leadership role at his alma mater on October 3, 2017. His tenure has been marked by transformative and innovative leadership that has included a 130 percent increase in fundraising, expansion of national and global partnerships, advancement of strategic initiatives under the brand of “CommUniversity,” and an increased emphasis on student success.

President Ross is a three-time graduate of Alabama State University, where he earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Political Science, a Master of Education degree in Secondary Education English, and a Doctorate of Education in Educational Leadership, Policy and Law. Dr. Ross is a distinguished career educator with more than 28 years of experience in Higher and K-12 public education. Prior to becoming the University’s 15th President, Dr. Ross served with distinction as a senator in the Alabama Legislature for four terms.
News media contact: Kenneth Mullinax, 334-229-4104.

The Full List of Advisory Board Appointees:

·        Makola M. Abdullah

·        Javaune Adams-Gaston

·        Paige Blake

·        Thasunda Brown Duckett

·        Willie A. Deese

·        Patrick Cokley

·        Monica Goldson

·        Brett J. Hart

·        Taraji P. Henson

·        Beverly W. Hogan

·        Lisa P. Jackson

·        Shevrin D. Jones

·        Walter M. Kimbrough

·        William F. L. Moses

·        Christopher E. Paul

·        Quinton T. Ross Jr.

·        Ruth J. Simmons

·        Janeen Uzzell