Faculty and Staff

Dr. Denise Davis-Maye

Dr. Denise Davis-Maye, LICSW, PIP Professor and Interim Department Chairperson. She is a licensed clinical social worker and native New Yorker. With over 30 years of experience in Social Work practice and 21 years in Social Work Education, Dr. Davis-Maye is an alumna of Clark Atlanta University. She completed graduate work at Hunter College of the City University of New York (CUNY), and the University of Alabama. Her research interests include well-being, and cultural, community and familial impact on the emotional development of adolescent girls of African ancestry, the history of social welfare policy development, and the global implications of leadership development of women and girls of color.

Abernathy Hall, Room 324

334.604.8458

dmaye@alasu.edu

   
Dr. Tabitha Brookins

Dr. Tabitha Brookins, received her BS in Medical Sociology and BA in Community and School Health Education from California State University, Long Beach (2009), MSW from California State University, Stanislaus (2010) and Ph.D. in Social Work from Jackson State University, Mississippi (2016). She is a Licensed Social Worker with solid experience in geriatrics, palliative, hospice and hospital care. She serves as a member of the Academy of Certified Social Workers (ACSW), National Association of Social Workers (NASW), Association of Oncology Social Workers (AOSW) and Society for Social Work and Research (SSWR).

In 2016, Dr. Brookins joined Alabama State University as an Assistant Professor. She teaches, advises, and performs researchon minority health disparities, cancer interventions, aging, healthcare social work, rural areas and communities. Additionally, she is a reviwer for the International Journal of Psychology Oncology and has 7 peer-reviewed international journals published.

Presently Dr. Brookins is working on several publicatins focusing on Patients Access to Complimentary Therapies, Community Resourcs and Correlation with HIV Control, and the Self-Ojectification, Negative Effects and Distorted Eating among College Women.

Trenholm Hall, Suite 200

334.604.8099

tbrookins@alasu.edu

   
Ms. Iva Davis

Ms. Iva Davis,

Adjunct Instructor

334.604.9035

idavis@alasu.edu

 

   
Ms. Janice Dennis

Ms. Janice Dennis,

Adjunct Instructor

334.604.9035

jdennis@alasu.edu

   

Penny Genous

Ms. Penny Genous

Adjunct Instuctor

334.604.9035

pgenous@alasu.edu

   
Ms. Riane Hinton-Smith

Ms. Riane Hinton-Smith,

Instructor, BSW Program Director

Abernathy Hall, Room 321

334.604.8355

rhinton@alasu.edu

   
Ms. Debra Hickey

Ms. Debra Hickey,

Administrative Assistant

Abernathy Hall, Room 310

334.604.8379

dhickey@alasu.edu

   
Ms. Kai Mumpfield

Ms. Kai Mumpfield,

Instructor, Director of Field Education, MSW Coordinator

Trenholm Hall, Suite 200

334.604.8121

amumpfield@alasu.edu

   
Dr. Dawna Nelson

Dr. Dawna Nelson,

Assistant Professor, MSW Program Director

Abernathy Hall, Room 326

334.604.8445

dnelson@alasu.edu

   
Ms. Tracy Pressley

Ms. Tracy Pressley,

Assistant Professor

Abernathy Hall, Room 310

334.604.8362

tpressley@alasu.edu

   
Ms. Rene Ross

Ms. Rene Ross,

Adjunct Instructor

334.604.9035

lross@alasu.edu

   
Ms. Tonya Scott-Williams

Ms. Tonya Scott-Williams,

Administrative Assistant

Abernathy Hall, Room 319

334.604.9035

twilliams@alasu.edu

   
Shanae Shaw

Dr. Shanae Shaw

Instructor

Abernathy Annex, Room 211

334.604.9204

sshaw@alasu.edu

   
Ms. Johndlyn Strong

Ms. Johndlyn Strong,

Adjunct Instructor

334.604.9035

jstrong@alasu.edu

   
Ms. Jessica Withers

Ms. Jessica Withers,

Instructor, BSW Field Coordinator

Patterson Hall, Room 136

334.604.6163

jwithers@alasu.edu