Faculty Profiles

Dr. Evelyn Hodge
Dean of University College, Professor of Education and Teacher Inservice Director


With more than 30 years of experience at Alabama State University, Dr. Evelyn Hodge, dean of University College, professor of education, and director of Teacher Inservice, enjoys the responsibility of mentoring and educating future professionals.

“Alabama State University has a rich history and fine legacy of producing African-American professionals in almost every professional area imaginable,” says Dr. Hodge. “It is a pleasure to work in a community of professionals who believe in doing all that they can do to prepare the next generation of professionals.”

Dr. Hodge not only appreciates ASU for the job it has done in producing future leaders, she also cherishes the contributions that ASU made during the struggle for civil rights.

“Great leaders who were a part of this movement for human rights have been associated with Alabama State,” she says. “I will be able to share this with my grandchildren.”

A native of Blakely, Georgia, Dr. Hodge holds a bachelor’s degree from Albany State University, a master’s degree from Bowling Green State University, an education specialist degree from Troy State University, and a doctoral degree from Florida State University.

Before coming to ASU in 1977, Dr. Hodge taught at Holley Junior High School in Sylvester, Georgia, and was a faculty teaching assistant at Bowling Green University. Also, she recently served as the interim dean of ASU’s College of Education.

Dr. Hodge is a member of Kappa Delta Gamma Society, Kappa Delta Pi, Alpha Chi Honor Society, International Reading Association, Alpha Kappa Mu, National Education Association, and Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated.

She has numerous awards and recognitions including: Alabama Science Association Award, First African-American President of Alabama Staff Development Council, 2005 Governor’s Reading Summit and Outstanding Teacher’s Award, selected for Kappa Delta Gamma Summer Leadership Institute, invitation for 2010 Harvard Leadership Institute, and the 2007 Honorary member of Alpha Chi (National College Honor Scholarship Society).