ASU Board of Trustees Nominating Committee

Composition of the Nominating Committee

Alabama Senate Bill 281 amended the State of Alabama Statute governing the Board of Trustees.  The statute provides the provision of a nominating committee whose purpose is to evaluate and recommend applicants to the governor for appointment to the Alabama State University Board of Trustees.  The nominating committee is independent from the Board of Trustees.  

  • The composition of the nominating committee is made up of the following:
  • One member of the Board as elected by the membership of the Board;
  • One member of the Faculty Senate as selected jointly by the Faculty Senate and the Staff Senate and certified to the committee by the president of the Faculty Senate and the president of the Staff Senate;
  • The president of the Student Government Association;
  • One member of the business community as selected by the Governor;
  • One member of the Montgomery County Legislative Delegation, as selected the delegation;
  • The president of the National Alumni Association or his or her designee;
  • A community representative as selected by the membership of the nominating committee.

Trustee Nominating Process

When a vacancy on the Alabama State University Board of Trustees occurs, a notice will be posted on this website, and additional communication disseminated as needed via email and social media. The nominating committee will use the criteria below as a guide to evaluating the applicants. Other factors will be used as needed.

  • Interest in and commitment to advancing the mission, welfare and growth of Alabama State University;
  • Independence of thought and decision making;
  • Capacity and willingness to make significant contributions and/or assist in the University’s fundraising efforts as means and time permit;
  • An ability to recognize the ambiguous distinction between management and governance;
  • Lack of potential conflict of interest; and
  • Commitment and ability to attend full Board meetings, committee meeting, workshops, commencement, other University functions.

ASU Board of Trustees Composition 

The Board of Trustees for Alabama State University consists of the following:

  • Two members who reside in Congressional District 2 of the State of Alabama as constituted on October 6, 1975;
  • One member each who resides in Congressional Districts 1, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 of the State of Alabama as constituted on October 6, 1975;
  • Four members from the state at large who reside in different Congressional Districts of the State of Alabama as constituted on October 6, 1975;
  • Two at-large members who may be selected from outside the state; and the Governor.


Applications are being accepted for Nation-at-Large BOT seat.

The candidates for the Nation-at-Large seat should reside outside of the State of Alabama.



All interested parties are encouraged to follow the application process below. 

Please click here for the application. All electronic application packets must be submitted no later than 5 p.m. on Friday, July 29, 2022. Interviews will be held on August 10, 2022 between 9 a.m. and noon.


The Nominating Committee prefers that applications for this BOT seat be submitted vial email as one document that includes the application, letter of interest and resume/vitae. The packet should be emailed to  

U.S. Postal Service submissions must be postmarked by received by the same time and date (Friday, July 29, 2022) and sent to the following address:

ASU Board of Trustees Nominating Committee, c/o Tiffany B. McCord, Chair, 3165 Highland Drive, Montgomery, Alabama 36111


Questions related to the BOT position may be directed to

ASU Map of Congressional Districts

The Congressional Districts as constituted in the State of Alabama on October 6, 1975, are shown on the map below. The link to the state statute creating the Board of Trustees for Alabama State University, Section 16-50-20, Code of Alabama, is provided below.

Section 16-50-20, Code of Alabama


New District Map2022