clipboard steeple boxes gift circle-arrow chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left magnify alasu instagram youtube feed twitter facebook

Welcome to Alabama State University. The following assistives navigation will help you jump to specific areas of the page.

ASU Institutional Review Board (IRB)

All forms have been updated with a version date of January 2018. These forms are required for all submissions starting February 15, 2018.

The New Common Rule has been delayed six months and will be effective July 19, 2018. ASU will provide a summary of the Common Rule to faculty, staff and students upon written request submitted to

ASU’s Research Protection Program Policies and Procedures Manual Policy 3.03; 4.4 (pg. 62) has been updated to reflect the following: Once the review process has begun, the reviewer will provide a determination of approval or disapproval within 30 days of the submission date of the completed protocol.

Institutional Review Officers
Name Degree Expertise

Brenda Gill, Chair


Social Science Research/Mixed Methods Research

Gulnaz Javan, Vice-Chair


Forensic Genetics, Biology, DNA, Immunology

Tafeni L. English, Secretary


Counseling Psychology, Prevention, Mental Health

Institutional Review Board Members
Gulnaz Javan Ph.D. Forensic Genetics, Biology, DNA
Naomi Caldwell Ph.D. Education, Multicultural Studies
Sonya Ware Ph.D. Self-Care,Relational-Aggression
D. Lisa Cothran Ph.D. Personality, Emotion, Prejudice,Attitudes
Bob McNeal D.I.B.A. Internatioal Business, Financial Analysis
Michael Zelenak Ph.D. Music Education
Aaron D. Harton Ph.D. Social, Cultural History, Modern Europe
Marketa D. Myricks    M.S. Non-scientific Member
Catina James M.P.H. Non-ASU Affiliate
Institutional Review Board Alternates
T.J. Exford Ph.D. Exercise Science
L. Simone Byrd Ph.D. Communication, Public Relations
Bridgette  Stasher-Brooker Ph.D. Health Information, Management
Edward Brown Ed.D. Business Management and Leadership
Lois D. Jackson M.A. Management, Human Resources
Averil M. Loague Ph.D. Instructional Leadership, Research
Thomas L. Ngo-Ye Ph.D. Management Information Systems
Sang Heon Shin Ph.D. Finance, Research
Ruohan Wu Ph.D. Finance and Accounting
Fagdéba A. Bakoyéma MLS/MIS   Library and Information Sciences
Qiana Matthews Ph.D. Biological Sciences, Microbiology
Albert Calhoun M.S. Psychology/Educational Research
Kavon Franklin Ph.D. English
Alecia D. Hoffman Ph.D. Political Science
Sheree Finley M.S. Biochemistry, Microbiology


Advisory Board Members
Audrey Napier           Ph.D. Molecular Genetics
Tyson Platt Ph.D. Research Methods, Learning and Behaviour



Contact Us

Institutional Review Board 



IRB Application

All applicants must submit their protocols in one PDF file directly to the IRB. Files should be submitted via email to

Checklist for Human Subjects Research

1. Initial Application and full proposal

2. Copy of CITI program coursework requirement report

3. Copy of research instrument


If the correspondence is sent to any board members, including the chair's  personal email address it will not be reviewed!!!




Back to top