clipboard steeple boxes gift circle-arrow chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left magnify alasu instagram youtube feed twitter facebook

Welcome to Alabama State University. The following assistives navigation will help you jump to specific areas of the page.

FOCUSS Idea Competition-2017


On Tuesday, March 7, 2017, the College of Business Administration (COBA) in collaboration with its sponsoring corporate partner CUNA Mutual Group hosted, for the first time, the 2017 FOCUSS (Framework for Opportunity Convergence and the Utilization of Sustainable Solution) Idea Competition in the Life Science Auditorium at 8:30 a.m. on the campus of Alabama State University.

The purpose of the FOCUSS Idea Competition was to provide students with an opportunity to demonstrate their knowledge of credit unions and provide viable solutions for credit unions to assist the unbanked and underbanked population with adequate financial resources. Ten teams composed of undergraduate students from the College of Business Administration competed in this event. Students showcased their critical thinking and presentation skills, demonstrated their ability to analyze a problem, and applied their diverse knowledge of strategic marketing.
Team presentations were judged by three independent judges: Dr. Floyd Rose, President of FOCUSS, Ms. Debra Grimes, CUNA Team Leader II, and COBA Alumnus, entrepreneur, and founder of Clean Slate Credit, LLC, Mr. William Frazier. The competition was close but in the end the top recipient was Mr. Shane Parks, who just happens to be our current SGA President. Mr. Parks won $1,000, and will go on to compete in the national competition against first place regional winners from The University of Wisconsin, Central State, Prairie View A&M University, North Carolina AT&T, and Edgewood College. The winner(s) of the 2017 FOCUSS National Idea Competition will be awarded $5,000 USD and a potential internship or permanent employment opportunity with CUNA Mutual Group.  
Other award recipients were:
  • 2nd place $600 - Nakemakunam Obata and Zaria Strayhorn
  • 3rd place $400 - Nicholas Edwards
  • 4th place $200 - Joseph Peterson
  • 5th place $100 - Matabe Akoachere and Otii Soberekon
  • 6th place $75 - Samira Boudigue and Benson Webb 
  • 7th place $50 - Casey Anthony and Jacolbi Williams
  • 8th place $40 - Mercy Besong
  • 9th place $30 - Briana Dorsey
  • 10th place $25 - Jessica Strother
Back to top