clipboard steeple boxes gift circle-arrow chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left magnify alasu instagram youtube feed twitter facebook

Welcome to Alabama State University. The following assistives navigation will help you jump to specific areas of the page.

Banner Civil Rights pic 5

Faculty

 


History Faculty


 

     
B. English  

Bertis English
Professor of History
Ph.D., Auburn University

Specialties: American History; Political History; Social History

Office: 110 Paterson Hall
Email: benglish@alasu.edu
Phone: 334-229-4368

     
j Freedman  

Joseph E. Freedman
Professor of History
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Specialties: Schools and Universities; The Arts, the Sciences, and Philosophy at Early Modern Schools and Universities; Archival Theory and Information Management in the Early Modern Period

Office: 306 Abernathy Hall
Email: jfreedman@alasu.edu
Phone: 334-229-5060

     
Derryn Moten 2014  

Derryn Moten
Professor of History and Acting Chair
Ph.D., University of Iowa

Specialties: American Studies; U.S. History from the Civil War to the Modern Civil Rights Movement; Southern American Culture; American Penology; Law Librarianship

Office: 303 Doctoral Annex
Email: dmoten@alasu.edu
Phone: 334-229-4433

     

M Estakhr

 

Mehdi Estakhr
Associate Professor of History
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles

Specialties: Early Modern History; Religion; East-West Relations from the Greco-Persian to the Ottoman-Habsburg Era.

Office: 200 G. W. Trenholm Hall
Email: mestakhr@alasu.edu
Phone: 334-229-6948

     
D. Harmon  

David Harmon
Associate Professor of History
Ph.D., Emory University

Specialties: Modern American South; Civil Rights Movement; Modern U.S.

Office: 1010 West University
Email: dharmon@alasu.edu
Phone: 334-229-4608

     
M. Markus  

Michael Markus
Associate Professor of History
Ph.D., Washington University in St. Louis

Specialties: Modern Britain; Modern Europe; Early Modern Britain; British Empire

Office: 316 Abernathy Hall
Email: mmarkus@alasu.edu
Office Phone: 334-229-4768

 
W. Taylor  
 

William Harrison Taylor
Associate Professor of History
Ph.D., Mississippi State University

Specialties: Colonial and Revolutionary America; Anglo-American Religion; Modern Britain; Social and Intellectual

Office: 305 Abernathy Hall
Email: wtaylor@alasu.edu
Phone: 334-229-8536

     
a horton  

Aaron Horton
Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D., Louisiana State University

Specialties: Modern Germany; Modern East Asia; Modern Britain

Office: 201 G. W. Trenholm Hall
Email: ahorton@alasu.edu
Phone: 334-229-4802

     
CAB Dennis  

Carol Ann B. Dennis
Instructor of History
Ph.D., Auburn University

Specialties: Slavery in America and the Atlantic World; Elites and People of Color in the Atlantic World; African American History; Women's History   

Office: 203 G. W. Trenholm Hall
Email: cdennis@alasu.edu
Phone: 334-229-5813

     

Political Science Faculty


 

larkin  

Byrdie Larkin
Professor and Coordinator of Political Science
Ph.D., Atlanta University

Specialties: American, State and Local Governments; African Americans in the Political System; Comparative Political Politics; Scope and Methods in Political Science

Office: 208 G.W. Trenholm Hall
Email: blarkin@alasu.edu
Phone: 334-229-4373

     
s. abidde  

Sabella Ogbobode Abidde
Associate Professor of Political Science
Ph.D., Howard University

Specialties: Politics of Developing Nations; Global and Transnational Issues; U.S. Government and Institutions; International Relations; African Politics and Institutions

Office: 200 G.W. Trenholm Hall
Email: sabidde@alasu.edu
Phone: 334-229-4472

     
a. mezzell        

Ann Mezzell
Assistant Professor of Political Science
Ph.D., University of Georgia

Specialties: State Failure; Third-Party Intervention; Peacekeeping and Post-Conflict Reconstruction; U.S. Foreign Policy

Office: 200 G.W. Trenholm Hall
Email: amezzell@alasu.edu
Phone: 334-229-5818

     
a hoffman  

Alecia D. Hoffman
Instructor of Political Science
Ph.D., Clark Atlanta University

Specialties: African Politics; International Politics and Development; American Politics

Office: 211 G.W. Trenholm Hall
Email: ahoffman@alasu.edu
Phone: 334-229-4001

     

Adjunct Faculty


History

Political Science

Joseph Caver Colonel B.K. Haynes
Mahua Gosh Dr. D'Linell Finley
Judy Pennic-Houston 
Dr. Howard Robinson
Craig Rogers  
 
 

Professors Emeritus


 

Back to top