clipboard steeple boxes gift circle-arrow chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left magnify alasu instagram youtube feed twitter facebook

Welcome to Alabama State University. The following assistives navigation will help you jump to specific areas of the page.

CJSS-Faculty

CJSS People

 

CJSS Home Chair's Welcome2 CJSS Programs1 CJS People CJSS events3 cjss contact

 


Faculty


Dr. Aldams  

Anthony Troy Adams
Professor of Sociology and Dean

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
 

Office: 110, Patterson Hall
Telephone: (334) 229-5176
Email: atadams@alasu.edu

Education: PhD, The University of Michigan, 1990
Specialization: School violence, Post-secondary Service-learning,
Mentoring and Food Deserts and Food Inaccessibility

Seela Small2  

Seela Aladuwaka
Assistant Professor of Geography

Office: Room #122 C, Paterson Hall
Phone: (334) 229-5416
Email: saladuwaka@alasu.edu

Education: PhD, West Virginia University, 2003
Specialization: Poverty, Development Geography,
Regional Geogrpahy, Qualitative Research Methods,
and Social Impacts Assessment

RamSmall  

Ram Alagan
Associate Professor of Geography

Convener of Geography Program

Office: Room #122 A, Paterson Hall
Phone: (334) 229-8535
Email: ralagan@alasu.edu

 Education: PhD, West Virginia University, 2007
Specialization: Geographic Information Science,
Participatory GIS, Environmental Impact Assessment,
Disaster Management and Regional Geography

Gerald Bennett  

Gerald Bennett
Associate Professor of Sociolog
y

Office:1300, Old Medical Building, Carter Hill Road
Phone: (334) 229-6847
Email: gbennett@alasu.edu
 
Education: PhD, Bowling Green State University, l982
Specialization: Social Problems, Environmental Problems
and Popular Culture

detremon-s  

Delilah Dotremon
Professor of Criminal Justice
Convener of Criminal Justice Program

Office: Room #250 Hatch Hall
Phone: (334) 229-8349
Email: ddotremon@alasu.edu

Education: J.D., Florida State University, 1994; Ph.D., University of Florida, 2002
Specialization: Criminology, Corrections, Drug and Alcohol Abuse,
Inmate Treatment, and Marriage & the Family

dung-s  

Elisha Jasper Dung
Assistant Professor of Geography
Director of the History/Geography Lab


Office: Room #122 B, Paterson Hall
Phone: (334) 229-4154
Email: edung@alasu.edu
 
Education: PhD, Oklahoma State University, 2012
Specialization: Geographic Information Science,
Remote Sensing, Cartography,  Environmental &
Resources Planning, Physical Geography, Regional Geography,
U.S. Central High Plains and Nigeria

Dr.Paul2  

Paul Erhunmwunsee
Interim CHAIR
Professor of Geography

Office: 1300, Old Medical Building, Carter Hill Road
Telephone: (334) 229-6845
Email: perhunmwunsee@alasu.edu

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin, 1989
Specialization: Quantative Geography, Urban Geography,
Regional Geography, North America, Africa,
Transportation Geogrpahy, and Middle East

GillSmall  

Brenda M. Gill
Associate Professor of Sociology

Room: #1300 Carter Hill Road, Old Medical Building
Phone: (334) 229-4488
Email: bmarshall@alasu.edu

Education: PhD, Wayne State University,  Detroit, MI, 2009
Specialization: Mixed Methods Prepared Family Sociologist,
Minor Sociology of Education

 

Larry Spencer  

Larry Spencer
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice

Room: #248 Hatch Hall
Phone: (334) 229-4321
Email: lspencer@alasu.edu

Education: J.D., Thomas Goode Jones, 1991; M.S. Auburn University, Montgomery, 2006.
Specialization: Corrections, Prison/Jail Management,
Community-Based Corrections, Mentally Disordered Offenders,
Death Penalty

wilson-s  

Leon Wilson
Professor of Sociology
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at ASU

Room: VP Office Council Hall
Phone: (334) 229-
Email: lwilson@alasu.edu

Education:
Specialization:

 

 

 


Administrative Staff


 

Owens_W1  

Wylie Owens
Administrative Secretary

Department of Criminal Justice and Social Sciences

Office:  1300, Old Medical Building, Carter Hill Road
Telephone: (334) 229-4366
Fax: (334) 229-4285
Email: wowens@alasu.edu

 

 


Adjunct Faculty


 

Nicholas Astone
Room: #1300 Old Medical Building
Phone: (334) 229-4366
Email: cavalier_ranch@yahoo.com

 

Charles Dysart
Room: AL Dept. of Public Safety, Montgomery, AL
Phone: (334) 229-4366
Email: cdysart@alasu.edu

 

Albert Hambrick
Room: #1040 West University Drive
Phone: (334) 229-4366
Email: ahambrick@alasu.edu

 

Judge Johnny Hardwick
Room: Montgomery Courts, Montgomery, AL
Phone: (334) 832-1380
Email: jhardwick@alasu.edu

 

Daniel McGowin
Room:
Phone: (334) 229-4366
Email: mcgowin.geography@gmail.com

 

Michael Provitt
Room:
Phone: (334) 229-4366
Email: mprovitt@alasu.edu
 

CJSS Home Chair's Welcome2 CJSS Programs1 CJS People CJSS events3 cjss contact

 

Back to top